top of page

About The Northern Sydney Rebels

Get to know us


Northern Sydney Rebels

The Northern Sydney Gridiron club was founded in 2014 by former club president Stephen Armstrong. Stephen grew up on Sydney’s Northern Beaches, but moved to Perth after school. He had a successful stint playing football in WA for the Perth Blitz before relocating home to NSW in 2013.


After playing one season with the UNSW Raiders he decided to start his own football club. He appreciated his time at the Raiders, but passionately wanted to represent the area he calls home.


After sending through a proposal to the sports governing body, Gridiron NSW, he was then put in contact with a man by the name of Scott Davoren. Scott was a former North Western Predator who had been out of the game for a few years but was more than willing to help establish a new club.


The word was put out in early 2014 on the clubs newly formed Facebook page and after a hugely successful first turn out the founding members of the club made the decision to push forward and get on the pitch for the upcoming season.


Moving forward several months the club had advanced considerably. The club considered several names including The Spartans, Saxons, Owls and even the Redbacks in honour of the historical Manly side from the 90s. In the end it was unanimously decided to settle on the mantle of the Rebels. 


Fast forward to today, and the club has moved forward in leaps and bounds. The Division 1 men's team was the first team to record a win in their initial season in GNSW history, they have since had playoff berths in the 2016 and 2017 seasons, barely missing out on a spot in the Waratah Bowl in 2017. The club has grown exponentially since its inception, developing its colts and women's programs to the same level of success. The club looks forward to continuing its winning culture both on and off the field.


2016 The launch of the Rebels Colts Program for players aged 16 to 19 years.


2017 The launch of two local teams for our Juniors 9 to 15 years.

2017 The launch of our first women's team aged

2018 Women's team runners up in the Opal Bowl Championship Game

2019 Women's team runners up in the Opal Bowl Championship Game

2019 Men's team Waratah Bowl Champions!

2020 Women's Opal Bowl Champions!

2022 Women's Opal Bowl Champions BACK2BACK!

bottom of page